London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Ashburton Park Croydon
   

Ashburton Park

> Enlarge picture
Ashburton Park is a municipal park created on the site of an C18th park; the original mansion was built in 1788 but was largely demolished in 1927. Croydon Corporation purchased the site in 1924 and it was first used as a putting green but this was abandoned after a decline in use and it was subsequently re-opened as a public park.
   
Previous / Other name: Byculla Park; Stroud Green House; Woodside Convent
Site location: Lower Addiscombe Road/Spring Lane, Addiscombe
Postcode: CR0 6NR
Type of site: Public Park 
Date(s): Ashburton House 1788; Public Park since 1924
Designer(s):
Listed structures: Local List: Ashburton Park former chapel building
Borough: Croydon
Site ownership: LB Croydon
Site management: Parks and Open Spaces
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: 8am Mon-Fri/9am weekends - dusk
Special conditions:
Facilities: Library. Toilets; car park in Tenterden Road; children’s playground; bowling green; tennis, netball and basketball courts, Petanque
Events: Various including fairs and firework displays; Summer Show
Public transport: Tramlink: Route 2/3 Woodside.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/12/2008
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.croydon.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Ashburton Park is a municipal park created on the site of an C18th park; the original mansion was built in 1788 and underwent several name changes over the years. From 1855 the estate was known as Byculla Park after a Bombay suburb and then between 1869-1878 the house was called Stroud Green House after nearby Stroud Green Common. At one time the owner was Henry Dorling, a horse racing celebrity; King James I is said to have established public horse racing in Croydon early in his reign and there was a race-course nearby on the area now covered by Ashburton Playing Fields and Stroud Green housing estate. In 1878 it was purchased by Revd Father Tooth, founder of the 'Community of the Paraclete', who erected the chapel buildings and opened Woodside Convent Orphanage in 1882 for sons of gentlemen under the care of six sisters of his Community. The remains of the convent chapel was later used as Ashburton public library but it is now vacant, adjacent to which is a mid C19th lodge formerly of Stroud Green House.

Croydon Corporation purchased the site in 1924 and the old house was largely demolished in 1927. The site was first used as a putting green but this was abandoned after a decline in use. The park was used for the annual Croydon Summer Show, which in its heyday ran over 2 days with events up until midnight, animal shows as well as flower, fruit and vegetable shows, illuminations and dancing. The park today is enclosed within late C20th iron railings with good wrought iron gates at the east corner of the park.

Sources consulted:

Cherry, B and Pevsner, N, The Buildings of England London 2: South (1983); Winterman, M A, Croydon's parks: an illustrated history (LB Croydon, 1988) p9/10; LB Croydon, 'Local List of Historic Parks & Gardens', December 2008.
Grid ref: TQ346669
Size in hectares: 7.49
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List: Yes
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation: Local Open Land, Green Corridor
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back