London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Maryon Wilson Park Greenwich
   

Maryon Wilson Park

> Enlarge picture
Maryon Wilson Park is on a hilly site and was created out of woodland known as Hanging Wood, which was once part of the estate of the Manor of Charlton. The manor was owned by the Maryon Wilson family from 1767 - 1925, who then gave the land here to the LCC for a public park, which opened in 1926. The park contains areas of woodland and open grass, and has a number of animal enclosures for deer and farm animals.
   
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Thorntree Road, Charlton
Postcode: SE7
Type of site: Public Park 
Date(s): 1926
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Greenwich
Site ownership: LB Greenwich
Site management: Parks and Open Spaces Department/Friends of Maryon & Maryon Wilson Parks
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities: Farm, deer enclosure
Events: Free tours of animal park on Wednesdays at 1.30pm + Mondays/Fridays at 1.30pm in school holidays (contact Park Ranger Service for details)
Public transport: Rail: Charlton then bus. Bus: 53, 54, 380,422, 486.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2007
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.greenwich.gov.uk

Fuller information:

The woodland is a remnant of ancient forest known as Hanging Wood, which was once a notorious haunt of highwaymen and reputedly feared by Samuel Pepys when he went to Woolwich. In 1844 it was the subject of a poem by William Bance. Hanging Wood Lane used to run through the area that later became the public park. The wood had been part of the estate of Charlton Manor, which was owned by the Maryon Wilson family from 1767 until 1925, when they gave Charlton House (q.v.) to Greenwich Borough Council, and also land for public open space that became Maryon Wilson Park. It was opened by the London County Council in 1926. Sir Spencer Maryon Wilson had already provided land for the creation of Maryon Park (q.v.) in 1890. Another family member, Sir John Maryon-Wilson (1802-1876), who is buried in Charlton Cemetery (q.v.) was Lord of the Manor of Hampstead and instrumental in the preservation of Hampstead Heath (q.v.).

The wood is predominantly native scrub, and contains birch, thorn and willow, with some rhododendron and other shrubs along the brook. There are horse chestnuts and railings along the boundary with Charlton Park Road, but otherwise the park has minimal designed landscaping. Maryon Wilson Park has a number of animal enclosures in the park, which has a deer park and farm unit, with ducks, geese, chickens, goats and pigs, which provide an educational facility for school children.

Sources consulted:

Spurgeon, D, Discover Greenwich and Charlton, 1991, p178; Sue Swales, Meg Game, Ian Yarham, 'Nature Conservation in Greenwich', Ecology Handbook 10 (London Ecology Unit), 1989.
Grid ref: TQ420782
Size in hectares: 12.95
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: Yes - Borough Importance I
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Area of Special Character of Metropolitan Importance
Other LA designation: Green Chain (Green Chain Walk)
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back