London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Parkland Walk Local Nature Reserve Haringey
   

Parkland Walk Local Nature Reserve

> Enlarge picture
The Parkland Walk is the disused track of the former Finsbury Park to Alexandra Palace Railway. The first section of the line was in use by 1867, with the final section completed by 1873. Use of the line diminished by the 1920s and the last passenger train ran in 1954, with the tracks finally lifted in 1971. In 1990 it was declared a Local Nature Reserve and laid out as a public walk, with former railway structures still visible.
   
Previous / Other name:
Site location: access from Archway Road, N6/Crouch End Hill, N8; Mount Pleasant Villas/Scarborough Road/Finsbury Park, N4; Muswell Hill Road/Muswell Hill
Postcode: N4, N6, N8 and N10
Type of site: Public Open Land 
Date(s): 1867; 1976-1990s
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Haringey
Site ownership: LB Haringey & LB Islington
Site management: Parks Departments of both boroughs; Friends of the Parkland Walk
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events: Organised walks and events
Public transport: Tube: Finsbury Park (Victoria) then bus. London Overground: Crouch Hill. Bus: W7, W5, W3; 43, 134, 263 (Archway Road); 41, 91 (Crouch End Hill)
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/12/2011
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.haringey.gov.uk; www.islington.gov.uk

Fuller information:

The Parkland Walk spans two boroughs, LB Haringey and LB Islington, and is the disused track of the former Finsbury Park to Alexandra Palace Railway, now a linear green space of 4.5 miles. The first section of the railway line was in use by 1867, with the final section completed by 1873 and opened to serve Alexandra Palace (q.v.). When it was first constructed the railway was surrounded by fields. By the 1920s use of the line had diminished considerably as other forms of transport became popular and the last passenger train ran in 1954, with the tracks finally lifted in 1971. The majority of the land fell within the borough of Haringey, with a smaller section in the borough of Islington; in 1976 both Borough Councils purchased the land in their areas. Plans in the late 1980s to build along the former track were countered by a vociferous local and national campaign as a result of which it was declared a Local Nature Reserve in 1990 and laid out as a public walk. Along the way former railway bridges are crossed or passed beneath, and sections of platform and brick vaulting are visible. The southern end of the Walk within Finsbury Park was re-landscaped in c.2009 as part of the 5m Finsbury Park Heritage Lottery Fund grant for restoration and improvement. This has created an accessible walk to Stroud Green Road and the new Cycle Park facility located at the entrance of Finsbury Park.

Sources consulted:

Michael Waite, John Archer, 'Nature Conservation in Islington', Ecology Handbook 19 (London Ecology Unit), 1992
Grid ref: TQ285881 (west) / TQ313873 (east)
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List: No
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: Yes - Metopolitan
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: Yes
Special Policy Area:
Other LA designation: Part of Better Haringey Walking Trail
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back