London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

South Essex Crematorium and Memorial Gardens Havering
   

South Essex Crematorium and Memorial Gardens

> Enlarge picture
South Essex Crematorium was opened in 1957 by Hornchurch UDC, laid out on open land to the west of Upminster Cemetery, established here in 1902. The first cremation took place on 4 July of that year. The site was expanded along its western boundary by 1971. Enclosed by red brick walls, the grounds and memorial gardens were from the first laid out formally and well-planted, subdivided into separate areas. A drive from the entrance led to the main red brick crematorium buildings, fronted by an ornamental pond.
   
Previous / Other name: Corbets Tey Crematorium, Upminster Crematorium
Site location: Ockendon Road, Corbets Tey, Upminster
Postcode: RM14 2UY
Type of site: Cemetery 
Date(s): 1956/7
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Havering
Site ownership: South Essex Crematorium
Site management: South Essex Crematorium
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: daily 9am - 4pm (November - March); 9am - 7pm (April - October)
Special conditions:
Facilities: Tea room, toilets
Events:
Public transport: Rail/Tube: Upminster (District) then bus. Bus: 370
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/02/2007
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.havering.gov.uk

Fuller information:

South Essex Crematorium was opened in 1957 by Hornchurch UDC laid out on open land to the west of Upminster Cemetery (q.v.), which had been established here in 1902. The first cremation took place on 4 July 1957. By this time the area to the west and north was built over with suburban housing, although in the east and south remained largely farmland. The Crematorium site was expanded along its western boundary by 1971. Enclosed by red brick walls, the grounds and memorial gardens were from the first laid out formally, subdivided into separate areas with well-kept grass, beds, flowering trees and variegated shrubs. The main red brick crematorium buildings incorporated on the east side a circular Chapel of Meditation with a conical roof, the complex surrounded by Tuscan colonnaded verandas. From the main entrance, a drive led to the buildings, with a large oval pond now an ornamental lily pond.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry, Charles O'Brien, Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 5: East', Yale University Press, 2005, p210
Grid ref: TQ566851
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Thames Chase Community Forest
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back