London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Addington Square Garden Southwark
   

Addington Square Garden

> Enlarge picture
Addington Square was probably named after Henry Addington, Prime Minister from 1801-1804. The houses were built on three sides around a private communal garden, the northern side once occupied by a commercial swimming bath, which later became the site of King George's Field, now within Burgess Park. The King George's Fields Foundation provided a grant of 1,000 to Camberwell Borough Council for the 1.25 acre site. The garden was restored as a public amenity in 1897 and it is largely lawn with floral displays, and trees including mature planes.
   
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Addington Square
Postcode: SE5
Type of site: Garden Square 
Date(s): 1855; 1897
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII: 7 & 8; 9 & 10 &11; 13-16; 17-20; 33-37; 38-48; 47 & 48 and attached railings
Borough: Southwark
Site ownership: LB Southwark
Site management: Parks
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: 7.30am - sunset
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events: Has participated in OGSW
Public transport: Rail/Tube: Elephant & Castle (Northern, Bakerloo) then bus. Bus: 12, 35, 40, 42, 45, 68, 171, 176, 436, 468.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.southwark.gov.uk/parks

Fuller information:

Addington Square was completed by 1855, with a number of the houses dating from c.1810. The commercial swimming bath on the north side became the site of the local authority refuse depot with access to Surrey Canal. This in turn became King George's Field in c.1938, created through the King George's Fields Foundation, now part of Burgess Park (q.v.). In 1897 a successful campaign saved the formerly private square gardens from development, having become derelict, and they were renovated for public use and opened to the public in 1897; 6 seats were donated by MPGA in 1898. This represents one of the first open spaces rescued under the Gardens in Town Act. In WWII Addington Square's railings were removed for recycling as scrap metal and air raid shelters were built under the gardens.

In the early 1970s plans for Burgess Park included a proposal to demolish the houses of Addington Square, but this was successfully fought by the Camberwell Society. The GLC restored the garden railings with replicas in 1975 as part of European Architectural Heritage Year. Today the garden is largely lawn with a number of floral displays, and trees including mature planes. A sculpture by Hamish Horsley, Constellation II, has been installed in the gardens.

Sources consulted:

Joyce Bellamy notes, 2001; Tim Charlesworth, 'The Story of Burgess Park, From an intriguing past to a bright future', Groundwork Southwark, 2000; Mary Boast, 'The Story of Camberwell', LB Southwark Neighbourhood History No 1, revised 1996; London Parks and Open Spaces, London County Council 1924; Southwark Listed Buildings data.
Grid ref: TQ325775
Size in hectares: 0.181
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
Yes
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Addington Square
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: Yes
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation: With Burgess Park: Major Park, Tier One/London Squares Preservation Act. Community Facilities Site
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back